Homemade Fringe Bag (and a photobombing dog)

Yesterday, I was feeling particularly crafty, and I decided to upcycle the t-shirt I got from my first 5K.  Because I’m more of a tank-top-and-blue-jeans kind of girl, I wanted to turn it into something I could use.  It was serving no purpose just languishing in the back of my closet.  Inspiration struck while I gathered up some library books - I could sculpt it into a cute little bag!

But wait . . . I don’t sew.  Ever.  For any reason.  I like to think I’m helping locally-owned businesses when I frantically rush to the tailor with a torn hem and a handful of mismatched buttons.  So this would have to be a no-sew bag.

A quick search online directed me to Julie Finn’s Crafting a Green World.  I followed her ridiculously easy instructions, and I’m quite pleased with the end result:

100_1699[1]

And yes, there’s Bandit, appearing just in time to steal the limelight.

I’m eager to try out my new bag at the library and farmer’s market this weekend.  It was nice to take some time out for myself and craft something simply for the joy of it.  Now those leftover t-shirt sleeves are calling to me – maybe it’s time for some knockoff Yogitoes headbands.

I hope your weekend is filled with inspiration and creativity, Dear Reader!

Namaste!  -Sarah

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Carolyn
    Mar 29, 2014 @ 07:16:34

    This is a great idea! I can’t tell you how many event tees I have that never get worn.

    Like

    Reply

    • theshaktiwithin
      Mar 29, 2014 @ 07:42:35

      Thank you, Carolyn! It was super-easy to make, and it’s surprisingly strong. I logged on just now to look up some pole dancing classes in the San Diego area thanks to you! Maybe I can finally get some upper-body strength :)
      Namaste, Friend! -Sarah

      Like

      Reply

      • Carolyn
        Mar 29, 2014 @ 07:49:23

        That makes me so happy to hear!! If you take a class you will have to let me know how it goes! It has definitely improved my upper body strength, although I still can’t do a real push up.

        Like

  2. Trackback: Kizzybel Designs | The Shakti Within

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 85 other followers

